United States Geological Survey

United States Geological Survey

The USGS, a bureau of the Department of the Interior, was created in 1879 and is a scientific agency of the United States government. It is a fact-finding organization with no regulatory responsibility. The organization has four major science disciplines, biology, geography, geology, and hydrology.

Since 2012, the USGS science focus is directed at six topical “Mission Areas”:

1.Climate and Land Use Change

2.Core Science Systems


4.Energy and Minerals and Environmental Health.

5.Natural Hazards.


Click here to access the USGS website